• Blocking two of Microsoft's domains because spammers keep using them

    From Randolf Richardson =?UTF-8?B?5by15p@21:1/5 to All on Mon May 26 09:27:15 2025
    I'm finding increasingly that spammers are using two of Microsoft's
    internet domain names to host fraudulent screenshots of web sites
    that users often trust to login to webmail, which is then later
    followed up by failed attempts from other systems (sometimes, and
    after what I assume are random waiting periods) to login to our
    mail servers using wrong passwords I specifically fed to it.

    The two hostanmes in particular, are:

    1. *.safelink.emails.azure.net
    2. *.powerappsportals.com

    The first name is used for redirection to the second one (the
    asterisk indicates a unique string of characters), and both
    always have CGI parameters as well, which include more unique
    strings of characters in some of the CGI parameter values.

    The second name hosts the actual screenshot of the home page of
    the system that the spammer is attempting to trick users into
    logging in to, with no functional links except for the pop-up
    dialogue that prompts the user for their eMail address (which is
    pre-filled) and their password.

    I am setting up policies on all of our mail systems to reject
    all eMails that contain either of the above patterns so as to
    protect our users and to protect our intellectual property (we
    did not grant permission to powerapps.com to use our web site
    design or company name-and-logo). Contacting Microsoft about
    this matter has been fruitless as they do not bother to answer
    their phones.

    Some of our users have reported receiving hundreds of those
    links over the course of weeks, so we consider this to be a
    high-volume hacking operation. If you have received those
    types of messages on your systems, you may want to investigate
    taking appropriate action to report and/or reject that spam.

    --
    Randolf Richardson 張文道, CNA - [email protected]
    Inter-Corporate Computer & Network Services, Inc.
    Beautiful British Columbia, Canada
    https://www.inter-corporate.com/

    --- SoupGate-Win32 v1.05
    * Origin: fsxNet Usenet Gateway (21:1/5)