Ok now this is just stupid on the part of wix.com
I was getting some spam where a site on wix.com
was being used as a redirect typical spammer tricks
I have seen for years as I fight against spammers.
Nothing new there.
It is a bunch of fake Dick's Sporting goods emails
saying that I have been chosen to participate in their
customer loyalty program. The spam isn't from Dick's Sporting
Goods. Just some phishing attempt as far as I can see.
https://shoutout.wix.com/so/cdOCngLs9/c?w=kCYnydbHhM6hDUiAY_O5AlENiRqT5mEwPUT2xehM6gc.eyJ1IjoiaHR0cDovLzk2NDU0MjQ1MjQ1Mi5zdG9yYWdlLmdvb2dsZWFwaXMuY29tL3IiLCJyIjoiZWZkNjEwYzMtNzQyYS00NDVjLTA1Y2UtZTJiZmYyZThkMTFjIiwibSI6Im1haWwiLCJjIjoiMDAwMDAwMDAtMDAwMC0wM
IP: 185.230.63.199
For the record the spam was relayed though
microsoft.com who was contacted along with
the abuse department at velia.net and hosteurope.de
who are now both godaddy.com companies and don't
respond.
This spam was relayed though IP 40.107.11.51
(microsoft.com)
The spammer used the IP address of 92.204.190.178
to send out this garbage!
(velia.net / hosteurope.de) (AS29066)
https://www.cidr-report.org/cgi-bin/as-report?as=AS29066
So I sent an email to abuse -[at]- wix.com expecting
them to possibly do something about it.
Nope I guess not this was the response I got from Wix.com
"delmi-dominguez (Wix Support)
September 12, 2022 4:58 PM (UTC-04:00)
Hi <NAME REDACTED>,
Thank you for contacting us about this and for reporting spam.
We are sorry to hear that Wix platform was used to send unsolicited emails.
If you don't want to receive any messages from this sender, please be
sure to follow these instructions to unsubscribe: Unsubscribing from an
Email Campaign Mailing List.
We flagged this user's account and we will be monitoring their further
user's activity for spamming. If such an incident happens again we may
block the user's ability to send out newsletters via Wix.
Feel free to notify us in case this happens again.
Best Regards
Delmi | Wix Customer Care "
The link they give me for
"Unsubscribing from an Email Campaign Mailing List."
https://support.wix.com/en/article/unsubscribing-from-an-email-campaign-mailing-list
I emailed them back and said most spammers do not honor remove requests
anyways and that is a bad idea to click on the remove links anyways.
https://www.bustle.com/p/is-it-safe-to-unsubscribe-from-spam-emails-be-careful-what-you-click-18788915
"it actually isn't safe to unsubscribe from spam emails this way — in
fact, some scammers rely on your click to access even more of your
information"
"According to Rick's Daily Tips, a blog run by an A+ certified computer
tech, you shouldn't click the unsubscribe button in any questionable
spam emails. As the blog outlines, doing this can have multiple negative consequences. For one, it can confirm that your email address is indeed
valid, which will likely prompt a spammer to continue contacting you, at
the very least, the website says. Furthermore, clicking the unsubscribe
button in a spam email can also sometimes result in you being linked to
spam websites, including ones that can download viruses to your computer
or encourage you to participate in some type of fraudulent online
activity, the blog emphasizes."
Also I have reported the same spammer a few times now and still getting
spammed and all they do is "flag the account" I keep reporting it they
seem to keep ignoring the abuse. They also say that they are going to
block the ability to send out newsletters via wix but I tell them
clearly in my email that the spam was sent though microsoft.com and
that the spammer is using a site on their network as a redirect but
they didn't seem to clue into that. Duh wix.com!
I have actually gotten the same response from wix.com twice now when
I ask for a manager they just copy and paste the same garbage back
to me again.
So they are just telling me to unsubscribe and won't do anything
about the site on their network. Wow just wow wix.com is dirty as
hell.
The spam was not sent though wix.com the spammer is just using what
is probably a free site on wix.com and I was trying to get the redirect
shut down.
https://www.wix.com/about/terms-of-use
As per their TOS it is a violation of their terms but yet
wix.com won't enforce their TOS.
https://www.wix.com/about/terms-of-use
17. use any of the Wix Services and/or User Platform in connection with
any form of spam, unsolicited mail, fraud, scam, phishing, “chain
letters”, “pyramid schemes” or similar conduct, or otherwise engage in unethical marketing or advertising;
Anyone else have issues with wix.com when you email their abuse
department?
--- SoupGate-Win32 v1.05
* Origin: fsxNet Usenet Gateway (21:1/5)